You are here
Home > Knowledge > ICAR FOUNDATION DAY 16 July


The Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) is an autonomous body responsible for coordinating agricultural education and research in India under the Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE), Ministry of Agriculture. The Union Minister of Agriculture serves as its president. Indian Council of Agricultural Research’s headquarters is in New Delhi. It was established on 16 July 1929 as a registered society under the Societies Registration Act, 1860.


The ICAR has played a pioneering role in ushering Green Revolution and subsequent developments in agriculture in India through its research and technology development, therefore making a visible impact on the national food and nutritional security. It has played a major role in promoting excellence in higher education in agriculture. The Indian Council of Agricultural Research has been recognizing and rewarding the institutions, scientists, teachers, farmers and agricultural journalists every year.

Also Read: International and National Agriculture Days

ICAR provides accreditation to agriculture universities, colleges and programs, through its accreditation unit, National Agricultural Education Accreditation Board (NAEAB).The accreditation serves only as a badge of quality assurance. It is not mandatory, is not a form of affiliation or recognition and does not give approval to open an institute or a program. It is profound to note that of the 141 awarded persons 19 are women.

As of 17 September 2020, the NAEAB lists 72 accredited institutes. These comprise three Institutions, two AICRP, 14 KVKs, 94 Scientists, 31 farmers, 6 journalists and 10 staff members of various ICAR Institutes. The Agricultural Scientists Recruitment Board (ASRB) conducts all India competitive examination Agricultural Research Service (ARS), to recruit posts in the ARS of Indian Council of Agricultural Research. All India Entrance Exam for Agriculture (AIEEA) is an entrance exam for admission into the agricultural universities recognized by ICAR.

Deemed Universities Include:

  • Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi
  • Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Bareilly, Uttar Pradesh
  • National Dairy Research Institute, Karnal, Haryana
  • Central Institute of Fisheries Education, Mumbai, Maharashtra

ICAR presents awards like Choudhary Devi Lal Outstanding All-India Coordinated Research Project Award, Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award, Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed Award for Tribal Areas, Hari Om Ashram Trust Award, Jawaharlal Nehru Award for outstanding doctoral thesis research, etc. As of January 2020, ICAR has4 Deemed Universities, 65 ICAR Institutions, 14 National Research Centers, 6 National Bureau, 13 Directorates/Project Directorates. With 102 ICAR institutes and 71 agricultural universities spread across the country this is one of the largest national agricultural systems in the world.

                                                                                                                    ~ By D Sinchana

B. Tech (Food Technology), College Of Agriculture, Hassan


For Daily Update follow us at:

Download Our Android App

Facebook                Telegram                  Whatsapp                   Instagram                    YouTube


If you are facing any Problem than fill form Contact Us or send Mail at



One thought on “ICAR FOUNDATION DAY 16 July

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.